I Hereby declare

Certification has become an important part of ITIL.
ITIL supports certifications for individuals. The syllabus is made up of the Service Support and Service Delivery books.

There are currently three official organisations:
  • ISEB, the Information Systems Examination Board of the British Computer Society
  • EXIN, Examination Institute For Information Science based on the Netherlands
  • ITIL Examination Agency North America operates in Belleville, Ontario, Canada.

Neither organisations nor systems, software or processes can be officially ITIL certified.
There are some private inititives, like Pink Elephant, that certifies software products for some ITIL processes (e.g. Configuration Management).

BS1500 is an standard based on ITIL.
Organisations and processes can be certified against BS1500.

There are three levels of certifications

« previous: spelling ITIL